School term dates

The autumn term starts on Thursday 1 September 2016 *

2016/17

*Please note that the following dates are those recommended by the Local Authority. Each school is responsible for nominating its own non-pupil dates and occasional holidays. Some schools can set their own terms and non-pupil dates within the academic year.

Autumn termStarts: Thursday 1 September
Half term: Monday 24 October to Friday 28 October
Ends: Friday 16 December
Christmas holidayMonday 19 December to Monday 2 January
Spring termStarts: Tuesday 3 January
Half term: Monday 13 February to Friday 17 February
Ends: Friday 31 March
Easter holidayMonday 3 April to Monday 17 April
Summer termStarts: Tuesday 18 April
Half term: Monday 29 May to Friday 2 June
Ends: Wednesday 26 July
2017/18
Autumn termStarts: Monday 4 September
Half term: Monday 23 October to Friday 27 October
Ends: Friday 15 December
Christmas holidayMonday 18 December to Monday 1 January
Spring termStarts: Tuesday 2 January
Half term: Monday 12 February to Friday 16 February
Ends: Thursday 29 March
Easter holidayFriday 30 March to Friday 13 April
Summer termStarts: Monday 16 April
Half term: Monday 28 May to Friday 1 June
Ends: Friday 27 July
Setting school term dates

Local authorities have a duty to determine the school term dates for community and voluntary-controlled schools in their area and recommends these dates for adoption by Governors of Foundation, Voluntary Aided, Trust maintained, Academies and Free Schools. It is hoped that for consistency across Devon that all schools will adopt the recommended term dates. In previous years Devon’s calendar has been based upon the Local Government Association’s standard school year recommendation, but they no longer perform this role.

The school year in Devon is split into the three terms of: autumn, spring and summer. Each term has two half-terms. During the school year, all schools are invited to nominate days when they will close for staff training – these are called non-pupil days or inset days – and for two occasional school holidays.

Term dates are set after consultation with all Devon maintained schools and representatives from union associations to establish 197 school days (including 2 occasional days and 5 staff training days). Devon’s calender has been created based upon previous years calendars and through discussion with neighbouring authorities to ensure consistency across the South West (where possible). Academies and free schools are not required to provide education for 190 days but the Local authority encourages them to do so.

Non-pupil dates and opening times

All maintained schools are required to open for 197, days of which pupils should attend for 190 days during each academic year. Schools are allowed to set two days of occasional holiday and five staff training days. It is recommended that schools set their occasional days so as to avoid split week holidays, wherever they fall, however, this is the responsibility of school governors not the Local Authority.

Schools are asked to indicate their non-pupil dates to the County Council and opening times after the core dates have been confirmed and published on our website.

Contact schoolconsultations@devon.gov.uk for further enquiries.

Teacher training and non-pupil days

Each school is responsible for nominating its own non-pupil dates and occasional holidays within these terms. Some schools can set their own terms and non-pupil dates within the academic year. This leaves a range of dates for each school when children are required to attend. You can use the following link to see those dates as well as the start and finish times for the school.

Each school has a series of “From” and “To” dates. For example 6 Jan to 13 Feb. This means that children are expected to attend on every weekday starting on Tuesday 6 January 2015 up to and including Friday 13 February 2015. These dates are subject to change and you should check with the school before making any holiday plans.